60 REASONS TO GET A BABYSITTER IN AUGUSTIt’s not always easy to plan a date night or even find a babysitter, but every month our sister site After 5 Detroit puts together a list of the top events,... 60 REASONS TO GET A BABYSITTER IN AUGUST skip to Main Content

60 REASONS TO GET A BABYSITTER IN AUGUST

couple having fun time eating burgers and drinking beer

It’s not always easy to plan a date night or even find a babysitter, but every month our sister site After 5 Detroit puts together a list of the top events, happenings and reasons to mark your calendar and head out on the town. So whether you’re planning a date, a girls night out or mommy just needs a drink, here’s a heads up on our favorite things happening this month!

 

Summer Festivals

Sidewalk Festival @ Old Redford: August 3- 4

Belle Isle Art Fair @ Belle Isle: August 4-5

Meltdown 8 @ Russell Industrial Center: August 4-5

Ribs, R&B, Music Festival @ Hart Plaza: August 10-12

Summer Beer Fest @ Royal Oak Farmers Market: Friday, August 10

Sweetest Heart of Mary Pierogi Festival: August 11-12

Detroit Caribbean Cultural Festival @ New Center Park: August 11-12

Charivari Detroit @ West Riverfront Park: August 17-19

Michigan Comic Con @ Cobo Center: August 17-19

Michigan Renaissance Festival: Weekends starting August 18

Detroit Sushi Festival @ Eastern Market: Friday, August 24

GIVEAWAY – Detroit Hydrofest @ Detroit Riverfront: August 24-26

Arts, Beats and Eats @ Downtown Royal Oak: August 31 – September 3

 

FREE Date Night Movie Under the Stars

Dreamgirls @ New Center Park: Wednesday, August 1

Black Panter @ Detroit Riverfront: Thursday, August 2

Office Space @ Trumbull and Porter Hotel: Friday, August 3

Battle of the Sexes @ Campus Martius: Saturday, August 4

IT @ New Center Park: Wednesday, August 8

Jumanji @ Detroit Riverfront: Thursday, August 9

Donnie Darko @ Trumbull and Porter Hotel: Friday, August 10

Black Panther @ Campus Martius: Saturday, August 11

Wonder Woman @ New Center Park: Wednesday, August 15

Thor Ragnarok @ Detroit Riverfront: Thursday, August 16

The Last Jedi @ New Center Park: Wednesday, August 22

Black Panther @ New Center Park: Wednesday, August 29

 

Drink & Dine

Detroit Beer & Wine Fest @ Eastern Market: Friday, August 3

Taste of the Town @ Downtown Detroit: August 6-12

Celebrity Cruises’ Grand Red Affairs @ Detroit Zoo: Thursday, August 9

GIVEAWAY – Food & Wine Festival @ Detroit Zoo: August 10-11

Beer Tasting Boat Cruise @ Detroit Princess Riverboat: Saturday, August 18

Working Moms Meetup @ Empire Kitchen & Cocktails: Thursday, August 23

Wild Beasts Wild Wine @ Detroit Zoo: Friday, August 24

Waterfront Beer, Wine & Cocktail Festival: Saturday, August 25

 

Summer Concerts

Charlie Puth @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Thursday, August 2

Boyz II Men @ MGM Grand Detroit: Friday, August 3

Kenny Chesney @ Ford Field: Saturday, August 4

Shakira @ Little Caesars Arena: Saturday, August 4

The Smashing Pumpkins @ Little Caesars Arena: Sunday, August 5

Pusha T @ St. Andrews Hall: Monday, August 6

All Time Low & Dashboard Confessional @ Masonic Temple: Tuesday, August 7

3 Doors Down & Collective Soul: Tuesday, August 7

Lynyard Skynyrd @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Friday, August 10

Beyonce and Jay-Z @ Ford Field: Monday, August 13

Drake @ Little Caesars Arena: Tuesday, August 14

Jeff Lynnes ELO @ Little Caesars Arena: Thursday, August 16

QUINN XCII @ Beacon Park: Saturday, August 18

Rascal Flatts @ DTE Energy Music Energy: Saturday, August 18

Miranda Lambert + Little Big Town @ DTE Energy: Friday, August 24

Taylor Swift @ Ford Field: Tuesday, August 28

Niall Horan @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Tuesday, August 28

Boy George and Culture Club @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Thursday, August 30

 

Parties and Performances

Paul Reiser @ Royal Oak Music Theatre: Friday, August 3

GIVEAWAY – Wicked @ Detroit Opera House: August 7 – September 2

Gabriel Royal @ Detroit Symphony Orchestra: Friday, August 10

Shakespeare in Detroit Reading @ Craftwork: Sunday, August 12

After Dark – MARVEL v. DC @ Michigan Science Center: Thursday, August 16

I Love the 90’s Tour @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Friday, August 17

Red Baraat @ Detroit Symphony Orchestra: Friday, August 17

Nick Cannon’s Wild ‘N Out Live @ Little Caesars Arena: Saturday, August 18

Jay’s 80s Summer Bash @ DTE Energy Music Theatre: Thursday, August 30

 

Make reservations – Summer Restaurant Openings in Detroit

 

For a full list of events, happenings and the hottest new bars, restaurants and retailers, visit After 5 Detroit!

 

Photo credit: Facebook

SHARE THIS:

Carrie

About Carrie Budzinski

Carrie Budzinski is the Vice President of LittleGuide Detroit. She grew up in Livonia and Detroit and continues to live life in both cities. Carrie loves exploring the city and finding hidden gems in the suburbs..

All Articles from Carrie >>

MORE ARTICLES

Back To Top
Close search